## THE EUROPEAN SOCIETY FOR PHILOSOPHY OF MEDICINE AND HEALTH CARE

Prof Bert Gordijn Secretary of the *esmph* 

Institute of Ethics Dublin City University, All Hallows Campus, Senior House Drumcondra D09N920 Dublin (Ireland)

## Letter to the members of the espmh

14 December 2019

Dear colleagues,

At our 33<sup>rd</sup> Annual *espmh* conference in Oslo in August of this year we enjoyed many interesting presentations as well as the hospitality of our Norwegian colleagues. Once again, I would like to thank Professor Jan Helge Solbakk and his team for organizing this wonderful conference.

We are now looking forward to our next conference in Warsaw, Poland, 26 - 29 August 2020. You find a <u>call for abstracts</u> for this forthcoming conference on the <u>society's homepage</u>. The deadline for submission of abstracts is **1 March 2020**. Please send your abstract (in **Word** format) by email to the secretary of the *espmh*. After the selection of abstracts, we will draw up a (draft) programme and post it on the society's homepage by the end of March 2020.

In order to register for the conference in Warsaw please go to the society's homepage and <u>register</u> online.

At the Warsaw conference, there will be an election for positions in the Board of the *espmh*. As a result of the last election in Oslo the composition of the Board as of 1 January 2020 will be as follows:

Péter Kakuk (Hungary)	President	until - 31/12/2022
Ana Borovecki (Croatia)	President-Elect	until - 31/12/2022
Ignaas Devisch (Belgium)	Member	until - 31/12/2022
Luciana Caenazzo (Italy)	Member	until - 31/12/2022
Frida Simonstein (Israel)	Member	until - 31/12/2022
Fuat Oduncu (Germany)	Member	until - 31/12/2021
Bert Gordijn (Ireland)	Secretary	until - 31/12/2021
Gerrit Kimsma (Netherlands)	Treasurer	until - 31/12/2020
Eugenijus Gefenas (Lithuania)	Member	until - 31/12/2020

According to the By-Laws, Péter Kakuk (currently president-elect) will follow up Christoph Rehman-Sutter as president of the *espmh*. The three-year term of office of two Board members will finish by the end of 2020 (Gerrit Kimsma and Eugenijus Gefenas).

As a result of the increase of board positions from 9 to 11 members of the board (agreed by the General Assembly in Oslo) two further regular board member positions will be available for election at the General Assembly in Warsaw next year. We therefore invite nominations for the position of Treasurer as well as three positions of Regular Member of the Board.

We will follow the **By-Laws concerning the election procedure of the Board**:

- 1. We invite nominations from the membership.
- 2. The Board will establish an election proposal on the basis of the nominations received.
- 3. This proposal will be circulated prior to the General Assembly.

If members do not agree with the proposal of the Board, they are invited to prepare an alternative proposal (backed by 10% of the membership). This proposal must be sent to the Secretary or given to the Board prior to the beginning of the meeting at the latest. The proposal of the Board, as well as such proposals of the membership, will be open for voting during the General Assembly. At the same time, members who are not able to attend the General Assembly can request postal ballot sheets from the Secretariat.

With this first step, we would like to invite you to send in nominations for the four above-mentioned upcoming vacancies in the Board (the position of Treasurer as well as three Regular Members of the Board).

For a valid nomination please follow these rules:

- 1. Specify the name of the person nominated as well as the position (Treasurer of the espmh or regular member of the Board). Only members of the espmh can be nominated;
- 2. We need the written consent of the person nominated (in an email or letter to the secretariat);
- 3. We need 2 signatures of members who will be making this nomination (names and signatures, though email or letter);
- 4. The nominations must be received by the secretariat before 1 April 2020.

In preparing its election proposal, the Board will consider the following criteria: geographical diversity, professional diversity, gender diversity and European residency. If you were to consider making nominations, it would be helpful if you could take these criteria into account as well.

Best wishes,

Bert Gordijn, Secretary of the *espmh*