THE EUROPEAN SOCIETY FOR PHILOSOPHY OF MEDICINE AND HEALTH CARE



Institute of Ethics
Dublin City University

School of Theology, Philosophy, and Music All Hallows Campus, Senior House Drumcondra, D09N920 Dublin Ireland

Professor Bert Gordijn Director

Dublin, 14 July 2019

Dear colleague,

On behalf of the ESPMH Board, I would like to invite you to attend the **General Assembly** of our Society, which will take place during the upcoming conference in Basel on **Friday 9 August 2019 (16.30-17.30)**. Attached please find the agenda of this meeting as well as the draft report of the 32nd General Assembly in Lisbon, Portugal, 24 August, 2018.

The three-year term of office of five Board members will finish by the end of 2019 (Christoph Rehmann-Sutter, Péter Kakuk, Ana Borovecki, Ignaas Devisch and Frida Simonstein). According to the By-Laws, Péter Kakuk (now president-elect) will follow up Christoph Rehmann-Sutter as president of the ESPMH. This means that four board positions will be up for election during the General Assembly in Oslo.

In our letter from 5 December 2018 we invited you to nominate candidates for positions in the Board of the ESPMH. Subsequent to the invitation to propose candidates for these four positions, we have received one nomination for the position of President-Elect: Ana Borovecki. In addition, we have received one nomination for a position of regular board member: Luciana Caenazzo. Finally, Ignaas Devisch, Christoph Rehmann-Sutter and Frida Simonstein have indicated that they are willing to serve another term (all already communicated in our letter from 29 May 2019).

Thus, the Board's election proposal is as follows: President-Elect of the ESPMH Ana Borovecki

According to the by-laws concerning the election procedure, a candidate can be elected without ballots if there is only one candidate for a position and the General Assembly unanimously agrees.

For the three positions of Regular Board member there will be three ballots with the names of all four candidates on each of these.

Regular member 1: Luciana Caenazzo, Ignaas Devisch, Christoph Rehmann-Sutter & Frida Simonstein. Regular member 2: Luciana Caenazzo, Ignaas Devisch, Christoph Rehmann-Sutter & Frida Simonstein. Regular member 3: Luciana Caenazzo, Ignaas Devisch, Christoph Rehmann-Sutter & Frida Simonstein.

If the winner of the election for position 1 also receives most votes in the election for the post of position 2, this position will then go to the candidate with the second most votes. If one of the winners (or both winners) of the elections for the first two positions has most votes for position 3, this position will go to the person with the second (or third most) votes. Biosketches of all the candidates are attached to the email.

On behalf of the Board,

Bert Gordijn, Secretary of ESPMH

T: +353 (0)1 700 6140 F: +353 (0)1 700 6142

E: <u>bert.gordijn@dcu.ie</u>

W: www4.dcu.ie/ethics/index.shtml