

Institute of Ethics Dublin City University Ollscoil Chathair Bhaile Átha Cliath Dublin 9, Ireland

Professor Bert Gordijn Director

Dublin, 13 May 2013

Dear colleagues,

It is a pleasure to update you about the forthcoming 27^{th} European Conference on Philosophy of Medicine and Health Care, scheduled to take place in Basel, Switzerland, August 14 – 17, 2013. Please find an updated draft version of the programme on the Society's homepage (see <u>www.espmh.org</u>). This programme lists all the abstracts that have been accepted for presentation.

I would like to remind speakers who have not yet registered, to do so asap (registration forms can be downloaded from the Society's website). Persons who have not registered by the end of June will have their names removed from the final programme.

With this, we hope to avoid major gaps in the actual conference sessions.

ESPMH General Assembly

On behalf of the ESPMH Board, I would also like to invite you to attend the General Assembly of our Society, which will take place in Basel on Friday 16 August, 2013 (16.30-17.30 hrs). Please find a draft agenda of this meeting uploaded on the society's homepage at http://espmh.org/membership/letters/.

ESPMH Election

In an earlier letter (dated 11 December, 2012) we invited you to nominate candidates for four positions in the Board of the ESPMH. The Basel conference will be the last conference with Tuija Takala as President of the ESPMH According to the By-Laws, Roberto Andorno (now president-elect) will follow up Tuija Takala as president of the ESPMH. Hence, we will have to elect a new President-Elect in Basel. Furthermore, the three-year term of office of three board members (Renzo Pegoraro, Margaret Battin & Niall Scott) will end by the end of 2013, which means that these three positions will also be open for election in Basel.

Subsequent to the invitation to propose candidates for these four positions, we have received a nomination for the position of President-Elect: Christoph Rehmann-Sutter. In addition, we have received six nominations for the position of regular board member: Ana Borovecki, Lazare Benaroyo, Frida Simonstein, Yesim Ulman, Simone Bateman, Bernice Elger and Niall Scott.

Thus, the Board's election proposal is as follows:

President-Elect of the ESPMH: Christoph Rehmann-Sutter

According to the by-laws concerning the election procedure, a candidate can be elected without ballots if there is only one candidate for a position and the General Assembly unanimously agrees.

For the three positions of Regular Board member there will be three ballots with the names of all seven candidates on each of these.

Regular member 1: Ana Borovecki, Lazare Benaroyo, Frida Simonstein, Yesim Ulman, Simone Bateman, Bernice Elger & Niall Scott
Regular member 2: Ana Borovecki, Lazare Benaroyo, Frida Simonstein, Yesim Ulman, Simone Bateman, Bernice Elger & Niall Scott
Regular member 3: Ana Borovecki, Lazare Benaroyo, Frida Simonstein, Yesim Ulman, Simone Bateman, Bernice Elger & Niall Scott

If the winner of the election for position 1 also receives most votes in the election for the post of position 2, this position will then go to the candidate with the second most votes. If one of the winners (or both winners) of the elections for the first two positions has most votes for position 3, this position will go to the person with the second (or third most) votes.

ESPMH members attending the General Assembly in Basel can vote in person. Members who are unable to attend the meeting but still prefer to vote, should contact the ESPMH Secretariat (by email, telephone, fax or normal mail) to request postal ballots asap. These ballots should be returned to the secretariat **by the end of June** or alternatively handed in (via an attending colleague) to the Secretary at the Basel conference before the meeting of the General Assembly has been opened.

Bio sketches of the candidates are uploaded on the Society's homepage at <u>http://espmh.org/membership/letters/</u>.

On behalf of the Board,

Bert Gordijn Secretary of ESPMH